Apprenticeships (BTEC) Explained

Apprenticeships are increasingly recognised as the gold standard for work-based training.  Our apprenticeships last a minimum term of 12 months and a maximum term of 14 months (this is to meet funding agreement with our partner(s)).  If you are self-funding your apprenticeship length of the programme is negotiable.


An Apprenticeship is essentially a set of qualifications – called a ‘framework’.
Apprenticeship framework

The framework consists of:

  • The Competence element (often an NVQ), which will enable you to demonstrate your workplace abilities and prove that you can do specific job-related tasks.
  • The BTEC technical certificate will give you extra knowledge and  understanding about the job you are training for.
  • Transferable Skills such as Functional Skills cover more general work-related skills such as communication, team working, problem solving and using new technologies.
  • ERR – Employee Rights and Responsibilities. In this part of the BTEC Apprenticeship you will learn about your rights and responsibilities in the workplace. On completion you will receive a BTEC Award in Workskills for effective learning and employment.
  • PLTS – Personal Learning and Thinking Skills. As part of the BTEC Apprenticeship you will develop a series of underpinning skills that employers are looking for. Skills such as creative thinking, evaluation and team working are key to future employability, making BTEC apprentices more effective employees.

Apprenticeship levels explained:

There are three levels of Apprenticeships available for those aged 16 and over:

Level 2 BTEC Intermediate Apprenticeships – These provide the skills you need for your chosen career and allow entry to an Advanced Apprenticeship.

Level 3 BTEC Advanced Apprenticeships – To start this Apprenticeship, you should ideally have five GCSEs (grade C or above) or have completed a Level 2 Intermediate Apprenticeship.

Level 4/5 BTEC Higher Apprenticeships – These Apprenticeships work towards qualifications such as NVQ Level 4 and, in some cases, a knowledge-based qualification such as a Higher National Certificate or Diploma.

Your efforts will be rewarded throughout the process, as you will receive a separate certificate for each qualification you achieve, as well as receiving a certificate once you have completed and achieved all aspects of your Apprenticeship programme.

Different apprenticeships VTNE offer and what your job role needs to be

To be able to complete an apprenticeship with Vision Training you need have a job role that enables you to prove competency in the subject you want to take, e.g.

    • Working as a care worker to be able to study for a
      • level 2 apprenticeship in Health and Social Care
      • level 3 apprenticeship in Health and Social Care
      • We also offer level 5 Registered Managers Award but not as an apprenticeship
    • Working in a job where you supervise or manage a team of people (can be 1 or more people) for a
      • level 2 apprenticeship in Team Leading
      • level 3 apprenticeship in Management
      • we also offer level 4 & 5 management qualifications but not as an apprenticeship
    • Working as a cleaner, laundry worker, handyman, admin support in a care/residential home to complete a
      • level 2 apprenticeship in Support Services
      • level 3 apprenticeship in Support Services
    • Working in a job where you deal with customers to take a
      • level 2 apprenticeship in Customer Services
      • level 3 apprenticeship in Customer Services
    • Working in an administrative role to take a
      • level 2 apprenticeship in Business Administration
      • level 3 apprenticeship in Business Administration
      • we also offer level 4 & 5 management qualifications but not as apprenticeships



Our Courses



Comments are closed.